Move away from the Simple Life….


This morning in my devotions, I read through a few chapters of Proverbs as part of my reading in the LIFE Journal. And Solomon makes the case that living without wisdom is the life of the simpleton. But his rallying cry is to grow in wisdom and really begin to live! 

I loved this. I realize that as a person, I’ve had a better life because I’ve learned wisdom relationally, financially, socially, spiritually and in many other ways. It’s one of the reasons I went to college. It’s one of the reasons I took advanced studies and got my doctorate. 

As a pastor, I realize I must leave off the simpleton mindset too. What is that, you ask? It’s that the pastor must be in charge of everything, that the pastor must do everything. It’s lack of planning, flying by the seat of my pants, and it’s not paying attention to the big picture and how to get there. 

To really live life as a pastor, I’ve found, is to make my members part of the team. It’s okay for them to even lead pieces of that team. To create systems so that we know we have success in whatever we do every time we do it. So, in Evangelism, I’ve tried to create systems so we don’t have to recreate the wheel every time we do a seminar. As a pastor, I’ve tried to create those systems to help me write sermons, to prepare for board meetings, to do training events, and to build, support and train teams.

Solomon promises that when we live in wisdom, we truly have life. I’m living the dream right now and I love it! So, let’s get out of the simple life….and truly live!

