God? When did…?

About 4 1/2 years ago, I asked God a simple question that when like this. “God, who started letting kids make their own choices? Sheesh!” And as I said those words, I was reminded that he did, with the very first people. God gives us the freedom of choice for our benefit. But it’s hard to let kids make their own choices. It’s hard to let church members make their own choices. It’s hard to see some of my own choices.

I was encouraged today, by these words in my LIFE Journal reading plan: ““But God, who encourages those who are discouraged….” ‭‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭7:6‬ ‭NLT‬‬ http://bible.com/116/2co.7.6.nlt

It’s as if God loves to give us encouragement. He continually lifts us up, keeps us safe, takes care of us when we are discouraged. That’s a really cool thought. It’s kind of like avoiding the rock-bottom because God wants to lift us up.

I have a lot of things to be encouraged by today.

  1. My wonderful wife
  2. My great kids
  3. We live in a nice home, and have a loving family
  4. My church
  5. My staff at the church
  6. My dad is living in my basement
  7. Our health
  8. A happy heart
  9. A kind and tender spirit
  10. God’s promises for the salvation of my kids
  11. God’s promises for all kinds of things
  12. The truth in scripture and prophecy
  13. Mementary thoughts that uplift

Many things in the day-to-day can get discouraging. I found comfort today in the words that say God is in the business of encouraging.  

