I Discipline My Kids Because I Love Them

I really don’t get all the discussion about how if we disagree with someone, or point out a wrong, that we are judging them, or not being loving. I don’t get it. Sometimes the most loving thing I can do for my kids is to tell them no, to correct them, and to tell them to stop.

I thought God disciplines those he loves…. (“ For the Lord disciplines the one he loves and chastises every son he accepts. ” Hebrews‬ ‭12‬:‭6‬ NET). I thought correction was good for us. So, I’m confused by our generation being so opposed to correction. If we aren’t going to be corrected, or allow others to correct us, then we are each doing what we want to do. There is another verse that comes to mind that is a condemnation of that concept (“In those days Israel had no king. Each man did what he considered to be right.” ‭Judges‬ ‭21‬:‭25‬ NET)

So….recently I listened to a sermon from Pacific Union College Church that was stating the homosexual community needs to be loved, not condemned. I totally agree. I think everyone needs be supported, loved, and treated as a child of God. ABSOLUTELY. Let’s never forget that. Surely the church hasn’t always shined on that point.

However…sometimes…isn’t the most loving thing to do is to say “no”?

The great theologian, John Cougar Mellancamp (sp?) once said in a song, “I know there’s a balance, ‘cuz I see it when I swing by.” The church today is swinging by the balance point. They are swinging away from Legalism to Cheap Grace. Hmmmm.

Let’s stop the swing. Let’s live in balance. Whenever I need to discipline my kids, they usually end up with plenty of hugs and kisses. That’s what it should be like in the church. Don’t stop the discipline of living by God’s word, but let’s do it in a loving and supportive environment.

