Simply Amazed!

Screen Shot 2013-01-16 at 7.07.23 AMAs a pre-teen of 12 years old, I attended a series of meetings that changed my life forever. I was amazed at what I learned about God and His grace. I was fascinated to learn that He loved me, already knew me, and wanted to spend time with me. I was just a kid! I was overpowered by the idea that he didn’t want to punish us forever in an eternally burning hell, so he didn’t create one. Over the course of 6 weeks, I came to an understanding and love for God that can only be described as remarkable. My life was forever changed.

The day before we went to church for the first time, I was doing a sleepover at my friend’s house. I smoked my first (and last) two cigarettes that night. We were also beginning to experiment with alcohol. I already had a god before I went to those meetings, it was baseball. In 6 short weeks, my life was changed and so was my community. There was one less person who would end up as an alcoholic, one less person who would think of following the gods of this age and one more person (at 12) who would become a preacher.

We are currently holding a similar series of meetings in my church. It’s a prophecy seminar. As I watch people leave each night, I see amazement. They are amazed at the things they are learning. That God loves them. That God doesn’t burn the wicked forever. That death is a sleep. I know they are in for so much more. But for now, I know that their amazement will change their lives, their family, and yes, even their community for the better.

Yep. Jesus does just that.

They are simply amazed right now. I still am too!

