What’s Your Job To Do Today?

I once heard singer Michael Card say that as a singer/songwriter, he had to schedule times for songwriting. Some days he would get up and even though it was on the schedule to write a song that day, he didn’t feel like it. He said, “Do you know what I do when I don’t feel like writing a song? I write a song.” I’ve heard writers say the same thing – I have to write whether I feel like it or not.

storm clouds with peopleI’m not a writer. I’m not a singer. I’m a leader. And as a leader, people are looking for me to lead – whether I feel like it or not. So, even when I don’t feel like it, I have to make decisions, cast vision, and shape the direction of my church. In the end, it’s a good quality. One of my core values says, “Discipline will get me where I want to go.” Discipline as a songwriter, as a writer, or as a leader, will get me where I want to go.

