Don’t Try [It], You’re Just Going to Hate it

thegame_1_resize_240_240I didn’t remember the words to the whole song, but I remembered these words that Queen sang in 1980. “Don’t try suicide, you’re just gonna to hate it.” That year I was also confronted with a classmates comments in a Pastoral Counseling class when he said, “We all know that we’ve all contemplated suicide….” I fail to remember anything else he said, because I had never considered it – before or since….

Yesterday, I got word that a pastoral colleague, friend of mine, died at 51. Word on the street is that it was suicide. It just really tears me up inside, because whatever he was facing, it was overcomable. 1 Corinthians 10:13 ESV “13No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man.God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.”

This man came to Colorado and did two simultaneous evangelistic meetings for me over a 4 week period in two towns. This was back in 2005 and we had one of the largest baptisms we ever had. He brought 100s, maybe 1000s to Christ.

I’m saddened that the devil won this battle, but am willing to leave my friend in God’s hands because I don’t believe that suicide is the unforgivable sin…. Certainly God knows where a person’s depression has led them to this. 1 Corinthians 10:12 ESV “12Therefore let anyone who thinks that he stands take heed lest he fall.”

I long for Jesus to come. RIP my friend….

