You Can’t Save Yourself!

March 31, 2010 6:14 AM
Title: YOU CAN’T SAVE YOURSELF
Scripture: Psalm 49:7 No man can by any means redeem his brother
Or give to God a ransom for him–
8 For the redemption of his soul is costly,
And he should cease trying forever–

Observation: What I see this passage saying is this – You can’t save yourself, so stop trying. It’s too costly and you’ll never be able to afford it. The ransom is too great. In fact, it cost God his life….

Application: I, like nearly everyone, need to be continually reminded of God’s grace. I cannot win my own salvation by somehow doing enough evangelism, giving enough money to the church, seeking even to read my Bible every day (that should be about building a relationship with the Father, Son and Spirit I cannot win salvation by doing enough good deeds. I can never be good enough to get to heaven.

I can’t pay my own ransom, I must let it be paid by Jesus.

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

