Move On!

9/26/2006 7:39 AM

Title: WHEN TO MOVE ON

S: Luke 9:5 NIV  If people do not welcome you, shake the dust off your feet when you leave their town, as a testimony against them.”

O: Jesus said there were definite times to move on.  You don’t have to linger after people and beg them to accept the Lord.  You don’t have to force them, manipulate them, etc.  Just preach and move on.

That seems to be where Jesus was with it all.  It seems to be where he was in regards to making things happen.  People would come to him, but he never forced them.  He never made them.

A: This is like our seminar going on right now.  There are always some REALLY INTERESTED and yet drop out anyway.  Are these, in regards to the parable of the soils, like the ones getting choked out (yesterday’s readings)?  But Jesus is saying, move on.  In other words, there are a lot of people we could chase down, but there are also a lot of people to still work with.  Spend you time in the most productive manner and let’s move on from those that aren’t going to be productive.  In other words, it’s time to move on and really listen to those who want to be worked with and spend time with them.

This is a good reminder for me today.  It’s a good reminder for me not to stress about those that aren’t coming along.  I stress about them and I grieve them.  I’m not sure Jesus didn’t grieve those too, but he moved on with a resoluteness that simply said I have enough to do as it is.  I’m sorry they aren’t coming along, but I have plenty to do to work with those who want to be worked with.

P: Lord, I pray for those that are continually coming.  I pray for those that are listening.  I pray for those that need to follow you and need to work with you.  I pray you will be with me and you will guide me.  I pray you will be with them and you will guide them.  I pray you will continue to reach out to them and give them an open mind and an open heart.

Please, Lord, fill them with the Holy Spirit.  Please guide them to listen to you.  Please make them able to hear your words above the din, above the storm, and above the fray of life.

