Restoration

7/4/2006 6:32 AM

Title: THE RESTORATION OF ISRAEL AND JUDAH

        S: Hosea 1:10-11 NKJV  ” Yet the number of the children of Israel

      Shall be as the sand of the sea,

      Which cannot be measured or numbered.

      And it shall come to pass

      In the place where it was said to them,

        ” You are not My people,’[4]

      There it shall be said to them,

      ‘ You are sons of the living God.’  (11)  Then the children of Judah and the children of Israel

        Shall be gathered together,

      And appoint for themselves one head;

      And they shall come up out of the land,

      For great will be the day of Jezreel!

O: The guy who used to come to The Adventure and had this whole time prophecy thing figured out – he was a little whacked, but a good guy and knew his Bible pretty well – used to say that I needed to go read Hosea to find out that there was no such thing as spiritual Israel and that Israel would again be restored.

Ellen White seems to agree in some sense, because she does say that near the end, large numbers of Jews would become converted – or at least that is the implication.

This verse says that even though God said he would have no mercy, he goes on to say that even though He said that, he will have mercy.

A: “They shall come up out of the land….”  What does that verse mean?  That’s a kingdom verse – that’s a verse that shows that people will be drawn back to God and become part of God’s people.

It’s like Jim’s and my prayer time yesterday.  I prayed that it wouldn’t be about numbers, but would be about not quitting once we are filled up – continuing to reach more people for the kingdom.

Hosea seems to say that there is a work of restoration to do.  2 Corinthians calls it a work of reconciliation.  Others call it a work of reaching the lost (Luke 15).  It’s all about the idea of doing God’s work and not forgetting that it’s about people.

P: Lord, help me to never forget that.  Help me to never forget that I have a work to do.  People will be coming back to you.  I don’t know if it’s literal or spiritual Israel.  To me, it doesn’t really matter.  What matters is that you have called me to be an instrument in your hands to reach lost people.  I believe that with all my heart and with all my soul. 

Lord, lead me daily into your work.  Lead me always into your ways.  Lead me to focus on you and to listen to you.  Please guide me, Lord.  Please lead me to follow you.

