Asking

4/25/2006 6:48 AM

Title: INQUIRE OF THE LORD!

S: 1 Chronicles 10:12-14 NKJV  (12)  all the valiant men arose and took the body of Saul and the bodies of his sons; and they brought them to Jabesh, and buried their bones under the tamarisk tree at Jabesh, and fasted seven days.  (13)  So Saul died for his unfaithfulness which he had committed against the LORD, because he did not keep the word of the LORD, and also because he consulted a medium for guidance.  (14)  But he did not inquire of the LORD; therefore He killed him, and turned the kingdom over to David the son of Jesse.

Matthew 12:33-37 NKJV  “Either make the tree good and its fruit good, or else make the tree bad and its fruit bad; for a tree is known by its fruit.  (34)  Brood of vipers! How can you, being evil, speak good things? For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.  (35)  A good man out of the good treasure of his heart[7] brings forth good things, and an evil man out of the evil treasure brings forth evil things.  (36)  But I say to you that for every idle word men may speak, they will give account of it in the day of judgment.  (37)  For by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.”

O: Saul lost out and was killed by God, it says, because he did not inquire of the Lord.  Now, in the immediate context of this situation, he tried, and God did not answer.  But I think as I read the book of 1st Samuel, I think it’s saying that in the context of Saul’s life, in most of what he did, he didn’t consult with God. 

When he chased David through the wilderness, when he threw a spear at David and later at Jonathan, when he made rash vows, or when Saul made military and spiritual decisions, he never consulted with God about them.  He occasionally looked to Samuel for help, but often didn’t listen to Samuel. 

I think Jim Brauer’s recent email described what happened to Saul as well:

Ideally religion should be about the personal love relationship between Creator and Creature, but alas it too often isn’t.

      If you have listened to my series on regression on godcasting.tv, then you have already heard the following:

      The battle in the christian life is the battle with self, in order for Christ to have full Control self must die

      If you will not allow Christ to kill you —  (you can’t kill yourself)  then regression starts here

      a.  you don’t want to die because you need to maintain some sense of control in your life

      b.  soon you will discover that control feels good and seek control of others ( wife, kids, etc)

      c.  not too long and you discover that religion is an ideal vehicle for extending control, especially over dumber people who will let you

      d.  over time your influence will grow

      e.  over time your words will take on a special meaning

      f.  over time you will believe your own press and think your words inspired

      g. sadly over time you will believe you are god

      This regression is the sad story repeated everywhere, without exception,  Old Testament, New Testament,  Catholic, Adventist, current, and of course ME!

      I must die daily.

      Unless a grain of wheat fall into the ground and die, it cannot live.

Saul just refused to be killed by God.  He refused to give up himself.  And Jesus comes along and says – that if you are a good tree, you produce good fruit.  If a bad tree, bad fruit.  Then he says in the following verses (not quoted above) that an evil and adulterous generation asks for a sign.  Saul asked for a sign the night before he died.  Saul simply produced bad fruit, because he wasn’t a good tree….

A: I could spend a lot of time talking about Saul, but the point is me.  Am I willing to be killed by God each day?  Am I willing to listen to Him, follow Him, obey Him and let Him be in charge of my whole life?  Ah, that’s the rub, isn’t it? 

That’s where the rubber meets the road.  That’s where the Christian life really takes root.  And it seems as if it all starts with whether I turn to God for context in my life.  Am I going to Him to make the decisions in my life?  And we’re not just talking about the big, major decisions like if I should change careers, move, get married, buy a house, etc.  But it’s also the little decisions for guidance that we need to inquire of the Lord.  It’s an inquiry that simply acknowledges that He is God and we are not.  It’s an inquiry that simply says – God I need your help in life.

P: Lord, today I turn to you.  I do it every day, some days are rushed, some are motivated by self, but mostly I come here to inquire of you and learn to be a man of prayer.  I pray, Lord, for the Holy Spirit to focus my attention and focus my life.  I pray for the Holy Spirit to lead me.  I ask you to guide me.

Lord, today is the day we are supposed to start on our roof.  We’ll see if they’ve gotten anything done yesterday or not.  But I pray, Lord, for patience on my part and for help in communicating the vision of seeing what needs to be done in the job ahead of us.  I pray, Lord, for the Holy Spirit to guide us and to keep us listening to you.  Please lead us to focus on you and lead us to walk with you.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you, Lord.  Thank you for the opportunity to walk with you.  I turn to you and I will follow you.  I love you. 

Please keep the rain away, Lord.  Please keep the rain away and allow us to walk with you.  Please guide us to listen to you and to follow you.

