Leadership 1

3/27/2006 5:01 AM

Title: FORGETTING

S: Judges 2:7 NKJV  So the people served the LORD all the days of Joshua, and all the days of the elders who outlived Joshua, who had seen all the great works of the LORD which He had done for Israel.

Judges 2:10 NKJV  When all that generation had been gathered to their fathers, another generation arose after them who did not know the LORD nor the work which He had done for Israel.

O: I find it strangely distressing that you can have a strong leader and he can lead, teach and help the people understand.  But no sooner than he leaves, than the people are very capable of forgetting. 

This is so true in Judges.  The people forgot, they found a leader (judge) and then everything went well for the next 40, 80 or however long that leader lived.  Everything rises and falls on leadership.  Leadership is held to a higher standard.

My question is, how can people forget so easily?  Is it that they simply float through life and therefore whoever stands up and calls the loudest, they simply follow? 

A: I’ve known for years that most people don’t want to think, they simply want to float through life.  They simply want to go along with the flow.  So, if there is a strong, Godly leader, they float that direction.  If there isn’t, then they float randomly.  My question is, how can we teach more people to stand up and be Godly leaders?  How can I teach my leadership to stand up and be counted?

P: Lord, I pray for wisdom.  I want to follow you.  I want to walk with you.  I pray you will lead me to follow.  I pray you will lead me to listen.  I pray you will teach me to lead and to train up leaders.

Ahhhh!  That’s the difference.  Moses raised up Joshua and taught him to lead.  He was a leader in training.  Joshua was lucky to have a number of people around him who had seen all the great things of God under Moses’ leadership.  But he never raised up anyone else to take his place.  It outlived Joshua by just a few short years, until his buddies (the elders) also died.  Then the next generation came up and simply didn’t know how to lead.  No one had mentored them.

Last night, we were reading about a guy who, as an atheist found God.  He also found a calling into pastoral ministry and he went to his scout master – a minister, who immediately put him on “staff” and made him an assistant pastor.  He didn’t pay him.  He didn’t do much else except give him a Sunday School class and make him preach on Sunday evenings.  And he grew, thrived, and continued forward.  Eventually taking over the duties of the church when the pastor was ill – all the time as a volunteer.

