Asking God

3/21/2006 5:25 AM

Title: ASK GOD

S: Joshua 9:14 NKJV  Then the men of Israel took some of their provisions; but they did not ask counsel of the LORD.

Joshua 11:15 NKJV  As the LORD had commanded Moses his servant, so Moses commanded Joshua, and so Joshua did. He left nothing undone of all that the LORD had commanded Moses.

O: Joshua didn’t ask God.  That was his downfall with the Gibeonites.  He should have learned a lesson from Moses.  As Moses grew and progressed, he learned to say, “Let me ask God.”  And he did.  In this one act, Joshua was being presumptive, disobedient, or even simply doing it his own way.

But the next verse that I’ve listed in Chapter 11, shows that Joshua may have learned his lesson. 

A: I have a tendency to do the very same thing.  I have a tendency to pray here in the mornings and then go on with my day.  Some could interpret it as if I was simply ignoring God.  I’d prefer to say that I’ve asked God to lead and I trust that He is doing so. 

But I think I am coming under more and more conviction that I need to defer even the little decisions that I make in the day-to-day to God as well.  I need to let Him lead and I need to let Him be in charge of things.

So, I need to ask for His leadership in answering email, the phone, or working on my sermon.  I need to seek His counsel when preparing for a meeting.  I need to listen to Him when I’m working on talking with Jim, or measuring the counsel I give to people.

P: Lord, please turn me into a man of prayer.  I want to listen to you and be guided by you.  I pray, Lord, for the Holy Spirit to focus me and allow me to learn to walk with you.  Please guide me, Lord.  Please lead me.  Please direct my attention to learning from you.


		
