Meditating on God’s Word

3/11/2006 5:19 AM

Title: DAY AND NIGHT

S: Deuteronomy 17:18-19 NKJV  (18)  "Also it shall be, when he sits on the throne of his kingdom, that he shall write for himself a copy of this law in a book, from the one before the priests, the Levites.  (19)  And it shall be with him, and he shall read it all the days of his life, that he may learn to fear the LORD his God and be careful to observe all the words of this law and these statutes,

O: Psalm 119 talks about this very thing.  It’s as if David, the 2nd King was trying to follow through with this statement of Moses.  David didn’t accumulate much Gold or Silver.  He had a few too many wives, but it wasn’t like he was way out there from his culture.  In other words, he had more wives than I am comfortable with, but he had a couple more than the culture was comfortable with.  The cool thing, in Psalm 119 it’s as if he really is meditating on God’s word, writing it down, copying it, reading it, putting it to heart.  And it changed him into a man after God’s own heart.

Along comes Solomon and he seemed to break all the rules of engagement for a king.  He multiplied gold, silver, wives, horses, etc.  And he was led astray by it all.  We have this feeling that Solomon came back around at the end of his life, but in reality, the Bible isn’t clear about it.  Solomon was considered the wisest man to ever live.  But he did some very foolish things.  He didn’t put his wisdom into a trust with God, rather he trusted in himself.  And it led him astray.

Psalms 119:9-11 TNIV  How can those who are young keep their way pure?

            By living according to your word.

 (10)  I seek you with all my heart;

            do not let me stray from your commands.

 (11)  I have hidden your word in my heart

            that I might not sin against you.

The way people stay pure is by hiding God’s word in their heart.  The kings were called to do that on a daily basis by re-writing the word out.  They were called to do it by writing it out, meditating on the word, and praying over it.

A: I think it was this verse that actually got me to start typing the verses out each morning in my devotional time.  I haven’t done that this year.  I’ve been enamored by e-Sword and how well it works.  And I’ve been using the cut and paste feature of the computer. 

But as I write this, I realize that there are times that I read the passage, come back and put it into this journal and begin to write and journal on the topic.  I’m not saying that there is anything magical about writing out the scripture for the day.  Nor am I saying that it’s a demand of God on me.  But I find that when I actually retype the verse, that there is something that goes on.  That something is that my thoughts are clarified over the verse.  My thoughts are put together in a way that helps me clarify, focus, and put God’s word in my heart.  I also find that it helps me to hide his word in my mind.

Perhaps it’s time for me to begin to write out the verses again each morning.  Perhaps it’s time for me to retype them so that I am focused a little more on what God is saying.

David says in Psalm 119 that he meditated on God’s word day and night.  And he hid God’s word in his heart so that he wouldn’t sin.  That’s what I need to do.

P: Lord, I believe that there is power in the word.  I believe that there is focus for my life in the word.  I believe that there is a lot more in the word.  I want to focus on it more.  I want it to become a part of my life a lot more.  I pray, Lord, for the Holy Spirit to guide me into the word each day.  I pray for the Holy Spirit to lead me to read, to listen and to apply what you are showing me. 

I thank you for these years of journaling.  I remember that one of the reasons I studied Tae Kwon Do was to help teach me some discipline.  But probably the biggest single factor that has taught me discipline is my daily journaling for 17+ years.  Thank you for that.  Please continue to teach me discipline in my work, in my study, in my family, in my life.  Please continue to lead me to follow you.  Please continue to lead me to focus on you. 

Lord, I invite you into my heart today.  I invite you into my life and into my thoughts.  I invite you into my sermon, please let me speak your words and your desires in this message, Lord.  Please help me to listen to you and let me be your servant. 


Make a Difference

Make a Difference!

 

rog

~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~

Lead Pastor/Head Coach of The Adventure

            Greeley and Ft. Collins Campuses

Creating a community of grace for those who have given up on church, but not on God….

 

            Ph: 970.686.2411   |   Fx: 208.246.7743  |   www.theadventure.org

            Mailing: PO Box 336301   |   Greeley CO 80633

            Meeting at: Greeley – 4100 W. 20th  /  Ft. Collins – S. College and Trilby

 

