Keeping All Things Fresh

3/7/2006 4:01 AM

Title: THE COMMANDMENTS

S: Deuteronomy 5:29 NKJV  Oh, that they had such a heart in them that they would fear Me and always keep all My commandments, that it might be well with them and with their children forever!

Deuteronomy 5:32-33 NKJV  (32)  “Therefore you shall be careful to do as the LORD your God has commanded you; you shall not turn aside to the right hand or to the left.  (33)  You shall walk in all the ways which the LORD your God has commanded you, that you may live and that it may be well with you, and that you may prolong your days in the land which you shall possess.

Deuteronomy 6:5-9 NKJV  You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength.  (6)  “And these words which I command you today shall be in your heart.  (7)  You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way, when you lie down, and when you rise up.  (8)  You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes.  (9)  You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.

O: Moses is leaving the group of people that he has been leading for 40 years.  It’s been a long, hard struggle.  He knows what their struggles are.  He knows what their issues are.  He’s trying to keep them on track and keep them following God. 

So, he tells them the words of the commandments again.  He tells them to write them on the doorposts of their heart and home.  He tells them to love God with everything they have. 

I think he’s trying to make a last and lasting impression on the Israelites.  He’s trying to get them to understand the importance of keeping things fresh in their minds and in their lives. 

A: It’s important to keep things fresh.  The Bible doesn’t stay fresh all on its own.  For me, it stays fresh when I write this application part.  For me, the Bible stays fresh in the LIFE Journal time. 

But I have a growing conviction to have an afternoon devotional time as well.  As if I need to spend more time with God, because the days are getting too busy and too hectic.  It’s as if I need to listen and be guided half-way through the day again, so that I can stay on track and not get too distracted.

P: Lord, come close to me.  Come into my heart.  Come in and lead me and stay with me.  I want to serve you.  I want to follow you.  I want to be like you.  Please fill me with the Holy Spirit.  Please lead me to walk with you.  Please lead me to focus on you and to be guided by you.  I love you.

