God will watch your reputation, if you watch your character

2/25/2006 6:12 AM

Title:  LET GOD PROTECT YOUR REPUTATION

S: Numbers 17:5 NKJV  And it shall be that the rod of the man whom I choose will blossom; thus I will rid Myself of the complaints of the children of Israel, which they make against you."

O: God was tired of their complaining against Moses.  He said, I will put an end to their complaints against YOU Moses.  He does it in a very dramatic way.  Asks each of them to bring their rods to Moses and they all carve their names on their rods.  There are 12 rods, one from each tribe.  God specifically mentions Aaron’s rod. 

But then He tells them that the rod that buds will be His chosen servant.  Not only does Aaron’s rod bud, but it leaves out and has ripe almonds growing on it.  It becomes a living tree – all by itself!  And they keep it in the tabernacle, because it would be a perpetual sign that God knows what he’s doing.

Ron Gladden once told me that his dad used to say, “You worry about your character and let God worry about your reputation.”  That’s exactly what God was doing with Aaron, he was protecting his reputation, and at the same time God was protecting His reputation.

Who’s reputation was protected with this one simple act?  God’s, Moses’, Aaron’s, and the whole camp of Israel’s reputation was protected.

A: I don’t need to worry about my reputation.  I need to worry about my relationship with God.  Today I am feeling like I’m short-changing things a bit.  I’ve spent too much time analyzing the data from the Explore the Prophetic meetings. 

But I hear God saying to me, “Rog, don’t worry about the stuff people say about you.  You can’t fix it.  You can’t change it.  You can only be a man after my heart.  So, simply put, take care of your relationship, and I’ll take care of your reputation.  You can trust me in this, I’ve never failed.”

P: Okay, Lord, I trust you.  I will follow you.  I will spend time with you each day.  Please continue to grow me into the man you want me to be.  Don’t ever give up on me.  I commit to daily spending time with you, Lord.  I pray you will help me and guide me to listen each day.  I love you.


 

