[Fwd: Don’t Be a Complainer]

*2/22/2006 6:06 AM*
*Title: /CRITICISM ISN’T GOOD/*
* S: *Numbers 11:1-3 NKJV *_The People Complain_*
Now /when/ the people complained, it displeased the LORD; for the LORD
heard /it,/ and His anger was aroused. So the fire of the LORD burned
among them, and consumed /some/ in the outskirts of the camp. (2) Then
the people cried out to Moses, and when Moses prayed to the LORD, the
fire was quenched. (3) So he called the name of the place Taberah,^[1]
because the fire of the LORD had burned among them.
Numbers 11:21-23 NKJV And Moses said, “The people whom I /am/ among
/are/ six hundred thousand men on foot; yet You have said, ‘I will give
them meat, that they may eat /for/ a whole month.’ (22) Shall flocks and
herds be slaughtered for them, to provide enough for them? Or shall all
the fish of the sea be gathered together for them, to provide enough for
them?” (23) And the LORD said to Moses, “Has the LORD’s arm been
shortened? Now you shall see whether what I say will happen to you or not.”
* O:* Complaining and bitterness never helped anyone. Complaining never
does any good.
Self-righteousness not only leads men to misrepresent God, but makes
them coldhearted and critical toward their brethren. The elder son, in
his selfishness and jealousy, stood ready to watch his brother, to
criticize every action, and to accuse him for the least deficiency. He
would detect every mistake, and make the most of every wrong act. Thus
he would seek to justify his own unforgiving spirit. Many today are
doing the same thing. While the soul is making its very first struggles
against a flood of temptations, they stand by, stubborn, self-willed,
complaining, accusing. They may claim to be children of God, but they
are acting out the spirit of Satan. By their attitude toward their
brethren, these accusers place themselves where God cannot give them the
light of His countenance. {COL 210.1}
Conversation.–Good conversation will accompany a good conscience, as
surely as good fruit will be produced by a good tree. If a man is unkind
and churlish in his family, and to others connected with him, no one
need to inquire how he will manage in the church. He will exhibit the
same petulant, overbearing disposition which he shows at home. No man
can have the spirit and the mind of Christ without being rendered better
by it in all the relations and duties of life. Murmuring, complaining,
and fretful passion are not the fruit of good principles. –Vol. 4, p. 347.
But when Moses went to talk to God about the complaining, he complained.
And when he complained, God answered. When God answered, Moses was in
AWE. How could God do this amazing thing? I love God’s answer. “Is my
arm too short for this?” In other words, what makes you think I can’t do
this, Moses? Why do you think I’ve lost some of the power that took you
out of Egypt, that helped you cross the Red Sea, that moved you into
place on Mt. Sinai, and that wrote on a rock? Why do you feel that I
can’t do this? Is anything too hard for the Lord?
* A:* The moves in place to take out the current nominees are in fact a
bit of sorry grapes. It’s just a matter of not getting our way. I’m
inclined to believe that from at least a pragmatic point of view that
Jim Brauer is gone and that there is nothing we can do about it.
I well remember the 8^th grade teacher when I was in 9^th . She was
fresh out of college and had absolutely NO control over the classroom.
We liked her. She was fun. She taught English alright. She was a good
person. But the school board decided not to rehire her. I remember that
the students took up a petition and we all signed it, thinking we knew
best. The board evidently listened, because they rehired her. But she
never gained control of her classes and wasn’t rehired the next year.
And I’ve always thought that I should stay out of those things.
If I was involved in the nominating committee, I could have had a voice.
I was not involved and I did not have a voice. I’m not sure how much of
a voice I can get now.
But something definitely feels broken. These decisions aren’t supposed
to be “decided” until the actual constituency meeting and at that
meeting, there are votes for or against. But it feels like it’s already
decided. The four people on the list are:
Roscoe Howard
Jerry Page
Bill Miller
Ed Barnett
I don’t think Roscoe would take it. I don’t know much about Jerry Page,
other than years ago at the prayer summit Oregon But I know nothing
about his ability to lead. I think Rick and Peggy have liked them. I
think Bill Miller would be a good president and would take us down the
road to the TEAM1 Concept very well. And I don’t think Ed would do the
best job for us. Although I like Ed, I’m not sure we’re on the same page
overall. held and they came out as pray-ers.
Regardless of where this goes, I don’t want to play the part in getting
involved in a spirit of complaining. Ellen White says, “When brought
into strait circumstances, we dishonor God by murmuring and
complaining.” {RC 354.4} In another quote, that I could not find, she
says that the spirit of complaint is a spirit, but it’s not the spirit
of God.
I don’t want to be a complainer. I want to have a hand in fixing things,
not in tearing them down. I want to have a hand in repairing things, not
breaking them. I want to be known as a positive person, not a negative
one. I want to be known as a person of truth, not error. I want to be
known as a person who could help the situation (whatever it is), not
someone who can hinder it. I want to be known as a person who can work
with anyone, not as someone who must whine and get his way the whole time.
* P:* Lord, I pray for the Holy Spirit. I pray for a clean heart and a
clean mind. I want to think that this is more about you than about
politics. I pray, Lord, for the Holy Spirit to guide us and to keep us
listening to you. I pray, Lord, for your will and your capacity to lead
us. I pray that I will follow.
Please remove any criticism and complaint from me, Lord. Please forgive
me if I’ve been a complainer. Please forgive me if I’ve been a whiner.
Please forgive me if I’ve not listened to you. Please forgive me if
through my complaining and criticism I may have discouraged someone.
Lord, come close to me. Please fill me and make me a man like you.
Please help me to walk with you. Please help me to listen to you. Please
help me to focus on you. I want to be a follower. I pray for you to come
into my heart and lead me to do so.
I love you, Lord.
I still pray for Jim Brauer. I pray you will give him courage. No matter
what, Lord, it’s nearly an impossibility for him to get back in office.
I would hate that it would happen because of political maneuvering. But
at the same time, I think that most people just don’t know and will
simply take the nominating committee’s report and go forward in trust
and ignorance.
But I trust you, Lord. And if you want the TEAM1 group to stand up as a
group and ask that things happen, then lead us to do so. If you want us
to stand up and say, NO, I will do that, Lord. I will do whatever you
ask me to do. Please just make it clear.
I pray for all you do, Lord. I love you and I will follow. I know your
hand isn’t shortened and you are still able to do what needs to be done.
I trust you, Lord. Thank you for being in charge.

