Preach with Power

1/25/2006 8:44 AM

Title: POWER

S: Acts 1:8 NKJV  But you shall receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you; and you shall be witnesses to Me[1] in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”

O: Power is a wonderful thing.  Power is a thing that truly takes control of the situation.  Milton was just coming down and talking to me about the Time of Jacob’s Trouble.  That was about power too.  Jesus is here saying that power doesn’t come from ourselves but from the Holy Spirit. 

A: What power am I leaning on?  When it comes to evangelism/reaping, what power am I leaning on?  Is it the power of advertising?  Is it the power of the brochure?  Is it the power of the speaking?  Is it the power of the Holy Spirit?  I hope and pray that it is the Holy Spirit.

P: Lord, I pray for the Holy Spirit to come upon Jim, Shane and I.  I pray the Holy Spirit will come upon the community of Ft. Collins, Loveland and Windsor.  I pray the Holy Spirit to come upon the West Campus.  I pray the Holy Spirit will come and prepare the soil, prepare the hearts and minds of people, and prepare us to give them a message of hope. 

Lord, I don’t want to make this a time of preparation of doing everything right – although I want everything to be right.  But more than that, I want to make sure that it is all bathed in the Holy Spirit.

Jesus promised us that when the Holy Spirit came, we shall be His witnesses.  But first we had to receive the power. 

Lord, send me the power.  Send me the power of the Holy Spirit on my life.  Send Shane the power of the Holy Spirit.  Send Jim the power of the Holy Spirit.  Make us your instruments to share a message of power that will change lives.  Please, Lord, come in and make us like you.  Please come in and fill us with the Holy Spirit.  Please come in and make us like you.

