Leading through my fears

1/14/2006 8:10 AM
Title: FEARFULNESS AND LEADERSHIP

S: Genesis 34:30-31 NKJV Then Jacob said to Simeon and Levi, “You have
troubled me by making me obnoxious among the inhabitants of the land,
among the Canaanites and the Perizzites; and since I am few in number,
they will gather themselves together against me and kill me. I shall be
destroyed, my household and I.” (31) But they said, “Should he treat our
sister like a harlot?”

O: I find it interesting that some of the “GREATS” in the Bible are some
of the most fearful at times. Israel (Jacob), the father of the nation
is one of those people. Later we read about Joshua being fearful a lot.
But here, Jacob, is fearful of meeting his brother. He’s so fearful that
he wrestles with God all night long. Now, his sons have done something
honorable, but Jacob can only think of his fear of being wiped out by
the surrounding nations.

Where does that fear come from? I think of Abraham and Isaac who told
lies because of their fears. I think of Moses’ fear of speaking and
leading. I think of Joshua’s fears of leading into the promised land and
conquering it. I think of Peter’s fears of admitting he was with Jesus.
I think of David’s fears of his son Absalom. I think of Elijah’s fear of
the queen Jezebel and running away after Mt. Carmel.

Where DO these fears come from? Each one of these men were great leaders
in the Bible. Each of them had fears. It says to me that leaders must
lead through their fears. In other words, just because you are afraid,
doesn’t mean you aren’t a leader.

A: I’m afraid of moving the church to a new location – namely a school
setting. I’m afraid that the west campus won’t grow. I’m afraid the East
Campus has settled in and is comfortable. I’m afraid that I don’t be
able to take the church to the next level. I’m afraid that I am not the
right guy.

I’m afraid I won’t be strong enough to do my mom’s funeral. I’m afraid I
won’t be able to become a better speaker. I’m afraid that I won’t raise
my kids to honor God as well as I could.

I have a lot of fears. But my biggest fear is that I would turn
someplace else to deal with my fears than to God. I want to be the kind
of man that turns to the Father for my help in times of need. I don’t
want to run away. I don’t want to run to stuff, to computers, web sites,
people, etc. I want to be the kind of man that turns to God to deal with
his fears.

P: Lord, I ask you into my heart. I ask you lead me to walk with you. I
give you my fears. I give you my desires. I give you my ideas and I give
you my strength. Please guide me to walk with you. Please come into my
heart and fill me with the Holy Spirit.

