Quit Arguing with God and just follow!

1/7/2006 6:37 AM
Title: ARGUING WITH GOD

S: Genesis 18:15 NCV Sarah was afraid, so she lied and said, “I didn’t
laugh.” But the Lord said, “No. You did laugh.”

Genesis 19:16-21 NCV But Lot delayed. So the two men took the hands of
Lot, his wife, and his two daughters and led them safely out of the
city. So the Lord was merciful to Lot and his family. (17) After they
brought them out of the city, one of the men said, “Run for your lives!
Don’t look back or stop anywhere in the valley. Run to the mountains, or
you will be destroyed.” (18) But Lot said to one of them, “Sir, please
don’t force me to go so far! (19) You have been merciful and kind to me
and have saved my life. But I can’t run to the mountains. The disaster
will catch me, and I will die. (20) Look, that little town over there is
not too far away. Let me run there. It’s really just a little town, and
I’ll be safe there.” (21) The angel said to Lot, “Very well, I will
allow you to do this also. I will not destroy that town.

O: It’s amazing the things we will say to God. Sarah flat-out lied to
God. Oh my goodness, how can anyone actually do that? Lot is being told
by God – or at least his angels – to leave and get out of Dodge. He
delays. He’s dragging his feet. He doesn’t want to go, but he
begrudgingly follows. Then the angels’ say – go there, and Lot says, I
don’t want to go there, can I go over there?

A: It sounds like me sometimes. Dragging my feet. Not wanting to do what
God is asking me to do. My goodness, what am I thinking about. I want to
get to the place where I have obedience first.

That’s the principle that is expounded in “Child-Wise” and the books
accompanying it. First obey, ask questions later. Lot didn’t know it.
Abraham didn’t know it. Sarah didn’t know it. I don’t know it. Sheesh!
How do we get to the place in our experience that we follow God no
matter what he says – if it sounds strange, if it sounds harsh, weird,
or wrong? Am I willing to obey no matter what?

P: Lord, I pray you will continue to teach me. I pray you will continue
to lead me.

Psa 3:8 Salvation belongs to the LORD. Your blessing is upon Your
people. Selah

You have promised blessing to those who belong to you, Lord. You have
promised blessing to your people. I want to be among that crowd. And
that crowd are the people who follow what you tell them to do. That
crowd are the people who follow you no matter where you go.

Luk 7:35 But wisdom is justified by all her children.”

When I look back at Lot, I see a picture of someone who’s children were
not wise – but it all came from Lot himself. He thought he was wise, but
it showed very much in the lives of his daughters that he was not wise.

I want to see my children raised in wisdom. I want to see my children
raised in a way that makes sense to them. I pray, Lord, for your wisdom
to overtake me. I need to learn to keep my mouth shut, not talk back to
you and simply listen to your wisdom, then follow it.

I commit myself to you, Lord. I commit myself to you and I will follow
you. Please guide me. Please lead me.

