Trending Toward Heaven

1/6/2006 7:29 AM
Title: TRENDING TOWARDS HEAVEN

S: Luke 6:45 NKJV A good man out of the good treasure of his heart
brings forth good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his
heart[7] brings forth evil. For out of the abundance of the heart his
mouth speaks.
Genesis 15:6 NKJV And he believed in the LORD, and He accounted it to
him for righteousness.

O: Abraham believed what God told him and because of his belief, he was
counted among the righteous. God had just told him that his descendants
were to be like the stars in the sky – too numerable to count. Abraham
had NO kids at this point in time and he was 86 years old! But he still
believed. His trust and faith in God were pretty strong.
Along with that verse we see that in Luke 6, a good man brings forth
good and a bad man brings forth bad. It’s like a seed – plant an apple
seed, get apples, plant an orange seed and get oranges. There’s no other
choice.
BUT…along comes this next verse:

Luke 6:1-5 NKJV Jesus Is Lord of the Sabbath

Now it happened on the second Sabbath after the first[1] that He went
through the grainfields. And His disciples plucked the heads of grain
and ate them, rubbing them in their hands. (2) And some of the Pharisees
said to them, “Why are you doing what is not lawful to do on the
Sabbath?” (3) But Jesus answering them said, “Have you not even read
this, what David did when he was hungry, he and those who were with him:
(4) how he went into the house of God, took and ate the showbread, and
also gave some to those with him, which is not lawful for any but the
priests to eat?” (5) And He said to them, “The Son of Man is also Lord
of the Sabbath.”

Jesus appears to take into account situational ethics. I mean, he
basically said, “Yea, David did was wrong, but it was okay at this one
time. Yea, we’re breaking the Sabbath, but it’s okay right now.
Now that could be a whole discussion, that I am not ready to get into.
My point in bringing that up is this: Abraham believed God and was
counted righteous because of his belief. But how deep did his belief go?
Just a couple of chapters before this Abraham became a pimp and gave his
wife to Pharaoh so that he could save his own life. Then the next
chapter after this, Ishmael is born – when Abraham took his belief into
his own hands.

I guess I see this basic thing going on. The great people of the Bible
were not perfect. Not at all. Abraham lied, gave his wife as a whore to
Pharaoh, and later took a slave girl to be his wife so that he could
have a son. David was a murderer, liar, and cheat, but God said he was a
man after His heart. Peter denied Christ. Paul had an anger problem.
There is story after story after story about all this.

Being that they were not perfect, it gives us a picture of what
righteousness is really like. Perhaps God looks at the trend of the
heart, rather than each individual instance. It seems like Ellen White
says something like that too, but I just can’t find the quote online
right now….

“Our characters are not to be weighed by smooth words and fair speeches
manufactured for set times and occasions; but by the spirit and trend of
the whole life.” {RH, August 16, 1892 par. 3}

A: The individual instances of my life are not worth retelling. The
trend of my life is toward God. I think we all should be trending toward
heaven. My friend Milton asks his congregation – which way are you
trending? I think that’s a very valid way of looking at things. I think
that’s a very good way to take a look at things and to discover things.
Which way am I trending?
Luk 6:21 NKJV …Blessed are you who weep now, For you shall laugh.

The last two days I wrote about my mom dying. Yesterday when we went to
see her, she clearly was much better. We’re yet to see things happen.
We’re yet to make things happen. But it appears as if she isn’t dying in
the next week. The roller coaster continues. But in this passage, God
gives me a promise – if you weep, you will also laugh. In other words,
God will renew the heart. God will renew the life. God will bring joy again.

P: Lord, I want my life to be part of you. I want my life to be on the
trend towards heaven. I want to be fully submissive to you and to your
leadership. Please take my heart today. Please guide my life today.
Please fill me with the Holy Spirit, I pray.

I ask you to come in and change who I am. I would like my life to trend
towards heaven even more. If I am 55% trending towards heaven, make me
aim for 65%. If I am trending 65% help me trend more like 85%. In other
words, Lord, don’t ever let me think I have arrived or that I am good
enough. I think that when I begin to do that, I begin trending the wrong
way.

