God wants to be intimately involved with me

*1/1/2006 7:00 AM*

*Title: /CREATION/*

* *

*S:* Genesis 1:31 NKJV Then God saw everything that He had made, and
indeed /it was/ very good. So the evening and the morning were the sixth
day.

Genesis 2:1-4 NKJV Thus the heavens and the earth, and all the host of
them, were finished. (2) And on the seventh day God ended His work which
He had done, and He rested on the seventh day from all His work which He
had done. (3) Then God blessed the seventh day and sanctified it,
because in it He rested from all His work which God had created and
made. (4) This /is/ the history^[1] of the heavens and the earth when
they were created, in the day that the LORD God made the earth and the
heavens,

*O:* God did an amazing thing when he created this world. He formed it
with His own hands. He formed it to be like something that had never
been before.

I like the phrase, “Then God saw everything that He had made….” Genesis
1:31. I like it because I get the picture that he’s doing something
amazing here and it appears like he’s so busy having fun creating things
that he doesn’t take the time to slow down and take a look at what he
had done. I get the picture of something fairly care-free. I get the
picture of something that is VERY [excuse me] creative. What I mean is,
that often we get the picture of God presented to us as “let there be
light and there was light,” or “Let there be animals, and all the
animals came forth.”

But for some reason, this morning, I get the picture here that God was
personally involved with what was going on with each ray of light, with
each flower created, with each tree and each animal created. I get the
picture that he took as much time with EVERYTHING he created as he took
with Adam and Eve.

Psa 139:13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my
mother’s womb.

Jeremiah 29:11 NIV For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the
LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope
and a future.

God did it all on purpose. He did it all for the one and only one
purpose – to be creative, to show love and grace through his creativity.
He isn’t some distant god who simply creates and watches from a
distance. No, God is someone that gets intimately involved with his
creation and with what is happening here. It’s a good picture I have today.

*A:* The application I see today is that God is going to be completely
involved with me and my life. Ellen White says that we have no fear of
the future as long as we don’t forget the past. This is a picture of the
past – not my past, but God’s past. He will always be there. He always
has been there. It’s a picture that says, God is intimately involved in
my life. He’s intimately involved with everything I do. He cares about
my kids. He cares about my marriage. He cares about my wife. He cares
about my work. He cares about my day-to-day decisions. He cares about
all of that. And he will stay close to me.

*P:* Lord, I knew that. I forget that too, though. I ask you to come
into my heart again today. To lead me, to guide me and to be intimate
with me and my life today. I pray you will fill me with the Holy Spirit.
I pray you will stay close to all that I have to do today. I pray you
will be as closely connected to all that I am and all that I have today.
I ask you into my heart.

I love you.

We’re starting my third time through the LIFE Journal today Lord. I
actually didn’t start it until early February, but basically, now, my
third year. I’ve been journaling now for my personal devotions for about
16 years now. It’s changed my life. I’ve seen in the last two years how
it has changed other people’s lives too. Thank you for that confirmation
on my life and ministry.

For about the last 5 years now, I’ve read the Bible through each year.
Sometimes fast, the last two I’ve read it slow and methodically. But I
pray today, Lord, that as I reread the Bible and reread the passages
that I’ve already underlined and reread passages that are exciting and
not exciting, my prayer is that I will grow deeper into the word. My
prayer is that I will become even more excited and fall deeper in love
with the scriptures. I pray, Lord, for the Holy Spirit to lead me this
year into truth that is so deep and so lasting that I will be assured of
your leading.

Thank you Lord, for my kids. Thank you for my wife. Thank you for the
way you led us in 2005 – Sold our house, everyone is well, our 5^th
child (okay, she was born at the end of 2004), church property issues,
church growth, Jim, Shane, friends, nearly bought land in the country
for us, becoming debt free and striving to reach our goals for our kids’
college education. Lord, I know you are leading. Thank you for doing so
in such a great way.

I love you, Lord. I will follow you anywhere, anytime, and anyhow you want.

rog

