My eyes are wide shut

*12/24/2005 7:53 AM*

*Title: /NOT SEEN, YET STILL BELIEVE!/*

* *

* *

*Scripture:* “Thomas, because you have seen Me, you have believed.
Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.” John 20:29

*Observation:* Jesus is speaking specifically to Thomas here, but he’s
speaking about me, and anyone else who lives in this time frame – we
believe in God, though we have never physically seen him.

*Application:* I feel like this has happened to me this week. I feel
like the whole land thing is about believing, but not seeing. I mean, at
the last minute, I had the pledges to come forward and actually buy the
land. I had the “seeing.” But in many ways, it was like God was asking
me to drop it in my own strength and to close my eyes and trust him. I
felt like God was saying, “Yea, you could work this out and you could
work and work and work to raise the money and you could probably do it.
Or, you could close your eyes and trust Me.”

Yesterday morning, I think I finally closed my eyes. I think I finally
shut them and said, “Okay, God, this is now your deal, not mine.” I
can’t say I was in 100% trust. Who is, when they are being led around
with their eyes shut? But I trust enough to allow it to continue. I
trusted enough to “keep my eyes shut.”

Jesus said, “Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”
Yea, I want to be like that every time. I wish I was like that every time.

Yesterday, a member was able to work with a developer who has NEVER
bought land so quickly, to agree to buy the land and donate back to us
15-20 acres in 12-30 months. I was overwhelmed when I was telling Gail.
I nearly burst out in tears. I realized that I had been working nearly
non-stop on it this week and that it was rapidly falling through the
cracks. I have worked so much on this one issue for nearly 90 days. I
couldn’t believe it was done.

I think I should change my title from coach, to carnie. I need to change
it, because I am a rollercoaster operator. I sent this individual an
email yesterday saying, I don’t have any more tickets to ride this
rollercoaster anymore. Please make it for real….

But it’s like God is teaching me. “Rog, you are good at making things
happen. You could have made this thing happen, and it may have been
good, or it may have been bad. But if you will continue to shut your
eyes and follow me, I’ll always lead you to good.”

*Prayer:* Lord, I love you. You are always good to me. I want to serve
you. I want to follow you. I want to keep my “eyes shut, and just let
you lead. I want to believe whether I see it happening or not. I love
you. I will serve you.


rog

~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~

*Lead Pastor/Head Coach of The Adventure*

Greeley and Ft. Collins Campuses

/Creating a community of grace for those who have given up on church,
but not on God…./

