Healing

*12/19/2005 6:56 AM*

*Title: /DO YOU WANT TO BE HEALED?/*

**

*S:* “Now a certain man was there who had an infirmity thirty-eight
years. When Jesus saw him lying there, and knew that he already had been
in that condition a long time, He said to him, ‘Do you want to be
healed?’” John 5:5, 6

*O:* I used to think this was a rather weird question by Jesus. I mean,
here he is, talking to a man who has laid beside the pool for 38 years
and wanted to be healed and he asks him, do you want to be healed? But
now I know people a little better. Many people say they want to be
healed, want to follow God, want to be a Christian, but don’t. Many
people say they want to be healed physically, spiritually, emotionally,
or even mentally. But when there comes something a bit hard, they revert
back to the way things have always been.

I think of Gail’s friend who has been in and out of the hospital
recently claiming to have this physical issue and that physical issue.
This friend claims to be emotionally imbalanced or physically out of
sorts. But in reality, she simply needed to listen to God and do what He
wants her to do.

How do I know this? Because she has recently been saying, that’s exactly
what she was doing – claiming to want healing, but really wanting the
care and feeding of people who will enable her to remain in her situation.

Jesus comes along to all of us and says, “Do you want to be healed?”

I find many people – myself included at times – don’t want God to heal
us. I’ll say things like, “Lord, I’ll follow you all the way (except in
this one area).”

*A:* I know that I must submit daily to Christ. I must submit every
moment of every day. I know that I must submit my life, my choices, my
actions, and all that I am. In other words, I can’t hold anything back
from God. I must allow Him to have total control. I hear Jesus asking,
“Rog, Do you want to be healed?”

Do I want to be healed from my sugar addiction? Do I want to be healed
from my pride? Do I want to be healed from my physical issues? Do I want
to be healed from my selfishness? Do I want to be healed from my
disorganization? Do I want to be healed from my “stuff?” Or do I like my
life and do I want to stay the same?

*P:* Lord, I submit myself to you. I’m not happy with the way things
would be if I were only listening to my opinionated self. I’m here
today, Lord, because I know that I do want to be healed. I want to be
more like you and less like me. I want to be changed to become a man
like you, Lord. Yes, I want to be healed. I don’t want to be like me.
Lord, please come in and fill me with the Holy Spirit. I want to be
healed and I want to be like you.

