Free in Christ

12/20/2004 5:39 AM
Title: THIRSTING FOR THE SPIRIT

S: “If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink. Whoever
believes in me, as the Scripture has said, streams of living water will flow
from within him.” John 7: 37-38

“So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.” John 8:36

O: So many people in the world are thirsty for things. As I watch
the Christmas season, as I watch what happens to people and the internet, TV
and other hobbies, and as I watch what happens to friends. I see that that
people are dying of thirst. And the source of quenching their thirst is
right in front of them.

Why can’t people see it? Why won’t people drink the water that is in front
of them? Instead, they chase materialism, they chase lust, they chase their
appetite, they chase their self-indulgence, and they chase after things that
won’t satisfy. Why?

Why after so many years of abuse, self-abuse, anger, ridicule, rape, and
depression was Kim unwilling to give in and drink from the water of life?
Why do people going through the seeming lowest part of their lives not seek
the living water? Why are people afraid of God’s ways? Why are they so
afraid that they simply cannot find what they are looking for? Why don’t
they see it? Why don’t they see it more clearly? Why do they run from the
water they want so bad?

A: What am I doing about it, Lord? Am I actually providing that
living water in the sermons I preach, the church I’m leading and the leaders
I’m developing? Am I showing, giving away, and doing something significant
for your power and your will to show it to others? Lord, could it be that
if we were willing to give away the power of God, the living water from
Christ through the Spirit, that our churches would really take off? What’s
holding us back, Lord?

Am I holding us back. Someone once said that if a church isn’t growing,
look no further than the Senior Pastor. Lord, if I’m holding the church
back, forgive me. We are experiencing a 20% growth rate, but at the same
time, I think so many more people could be growing too.

P: Lord, I pray for the Holy Spirit. I pray you will guide me and
keep me growing in your direction. I pray that I will listen to you. I
pray that I will always listen and always follow you. Please guide me
today.

I want to give that water of life to the people around me – in my
neighborhood, in my church, and in my community and in my world. Please
guide me how to do that. Because I want to see people who come to the idea
that they can be free in Christ indeed!

