the 144,000 and me!

9/9/2004 6:12 AM
Title: THE 144,000 (CHARACTERISTICS)

S: “No one could learn the song except the 144,000 who had been
redeemed from the earth. These are those who did not defile themselves with
women, for the kept themselves pure. They follow the lamb wherever he goes.
They were purchased from among men and offered as firstfruits to God and the
Lamb. No lie was found in their mouths; they are blameless.” Revelation
14:3-5

O: There’s a big list to stack up against here.
1. Not defiled with women
2. Kept themselves pure
3. Follow the Lamb wherever he goes
4. Purchased from men
5. First fruits to God
6. No lie
7. Blameless

I know there is much discussion about whether they are symbolic or literal.
And I know that the Jehovah’s Witnesses believed at one time that would be
the total number of people who would be saved (or at least I think they
believed that).

A: To me, this goes beyond the mere symbolism or literal debate. I
think this is about a target that I am to shoot for. In other words,
wouldn’t it be great if all of these things could be said about me? I don’t
think they can be in every aspect right now. Do I follow Jesus wherever he
wants to take me? Am I blameless? Am I always pure?

I don’t mean that this is some list I must somehow legalistically follow.
Rather, I see this as a target that God is continually leading me to. More
and more I’ve been struck that although I do NOT have a part to play in my
salvation (other than making a choice), I DO have a part to play in my
sanctification. That’s a big $10 word for character development. God, I
believe, wants to see us grow more and more like him. I know that he wants
to see us listen to him, follow him, and become blameless like him.

P: Lord, I pray for the Holy Spirit. I ask you into my heart. I
believe you’ve had me on a journey towards greater obedience, greater
following, and greater trust for some time. I believe I’m not there yet –
I’m still a man in need of a Savior. I ask forgiveness. I’m a sinner. I’m
not blameless.

Lord, I want to be pure in heart – blessed are the pure in heart for they
will see God – I want to see your face, Lord. I want to be blameless.
David says, how does a young man keep his way pure – by meditating on you
words, your law. Lord, I ask you into my heart. I have read your word this
morning. I’ve read your desires for my heart. I’ve listened to you. I
want to be like you. Please come into my heart and fill me with the Holy
Spirit.

Tomorrow night is the opening of the Prophecy Explosion, Lord. You know
that, of course, but I want to pray for my neighbors, for my friends, for
people who’ve been invited. I want to pray for this tri-city area. I pray
you will come and lead people to hear about your word. I pray you will open
doors for people to find a relationship with Jesus Christ. I ask you to be
in charge, Lord.

I pray fro the details of manpower to come and fill us up with people to
serve, Lord. I pray you will give us the people we need to serve in the
areas that are still short.

Lord, come into our hearts and help us to listen to you. I love you.

