Thirsty for the Spirit

8/5/2004 3:44 AM
Title: THIRSTY FOR THE SPIRIT</i?

S: “…’If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink. Whoever
believes in me, as the Scripture has said, streams of living water will flow
from within him.’ By this he meant the Spirit, whom those believe in him
were later to receive….” John 7:37-39

O: Jesus comes back to the same theme that he did in John 4, talking
to the woman at the well. He’s saying that we all have a spiritual hole
that needs to be filled and He is the only one capable of actually filling
it. It’s that God-shaped hole inside of us and no one is able to fill it.

A: I have tried many things to quench my spiritual thirst. I have
tried many things that weren’t Jesus. I’ve tried playing and fun, I’ve
tried sports, I’ve tried food, I’ve tried books and learning, I’ve tried
friends, and I’ve tried many other inappropriate things. But nothing has
filled me the way Jesus has filled me. He’s taken that God-shaped hole and
filled it completely with no gaps, not holes left over, everything fits
completely and well.

Jesus is here calling me to not forget that. He’s reminding me to turn to
him in my stress. He’s reminding me to turn to him in the stress of my
parent’s health, in the stress of the growing church, in the stress of
evangelism, and in the stress of life. He’s calling me to remind me to turn
to him and be addicted to Him, and to nothing else.

I believe this is what so much of our addictions are all about. That’s why
we get into drugs, alcohol, sex, food addictions, etc. I believe we were
designed to be addicted. But we were designed to be addicted to Jesus and
filled with the Holy Spirit. That’s what Jesus is telling me here – be
addicted and filled with me. Everything else will be extremely
unsatisfying.

P: Lord, I ask you into my heart. I ask you to fill my heart and
make me like you. I have learned a lot over the years to turn to you
instead of my other addictive behaviors. I’ve failed at times, and turned
to the wrong things, but I’m coming to you, a merciful and mighty savior.
I’m coming to you, Lord, because you are in charge and I want you to stay in
charge.

I don’t want to be attracted to the things of this world, Lord. I want to
be attracted to you. I want to be attracted to your power, your love, your
might, your will and I want to become a man like you. I pray, Lord, for the
Holy Spirit to guide me. I pray for the Holy Spirit to lead me.

I know that more stress is on the way. As we get into the final month
before Russell’s meetings, I know that things will continue to move in the
way of stress. I’ve never been involved with a series this big, Lord. I’ve
never been involved with something so great. But it’s pretty disorganized
right now and I realize that we have a lot to do. I don’t want to get
caught in a pattern where my work is overtaking and infringing upon my time
with you. I want to be totally focused on you through these meetings, Lord.
I want to be totally focused on you and understand that you are in charge,
Lord. I pray for the Holy Spirit. I pray for your power and your will.
Please come in and continue to reach me.

As I seek to put myself into the Bible each day, Lord, it is because I am
seeking to find you, follow you, and be filled by you. I ask forgiveness
for being a sinner. I ask forgiveness for not listening to you. I pray for
the Holy Spirit to guide me and to fill me and to change me.

I love you, Lord.

