The fire that consumes

This morning as I lay there in a stupor between wanting to continue
sleeping and not wanting to get up, I fell back asleep and had an
amazing dream. Like all dreams, they aren’t exactly life-like in all
aspects, but this one seemed to speak to me.

I dreamed my family and I was out in the woods somewhere. We were in
some cabin our house. I didn’t recognize it, but was fully comfortable
there. Somehow my laptop computer was open on a small table by the
front door and it was connected to the internet. I wasn’t even in front
of it because my family and I were doing something else. All of a
sudden, Gail and I looked at the screen and we were getting some kind of
pop-up from the US Forest Service telling us that there was a forest
fire in our area. We thought, that’s kind of interesting, how did they
know where we were? But all of a sudden they had an online aerial view
of the very house we were staying in and showed the fire moving rapidly
towards us. The forest service was trying to get us to evacuate! We
looked out the open front door and saw what we had not noticed before –
the flames within 75 yards of the house and moving towards us at a rapid
rate.

We grabbed the kids and threw them in the car – interestingly enough, it
was a white version of Shane’s “God Car.” We drove away as the flames
were lapping at the edges of the drive we were driving on. That’s when
I woke up.

This morning, in my devotions I read this passage of scripture:
“…the LORD knows how to rescue godly men from trials….” 2 Peter
2:9
The previous verses tell about rescuing Noah and his family
from the flood, Lot and his family from the destruction of Sodom and
others.

Interesting. It felt like God was telling me to stay away from
the edges of life and cling to the center of eternity. It was like He
was telling me through the passage in 2 Peter and in my dream that we
need to make sure we are at a safety point. But the best news was that
HE IS ABLE. God is good…ALL THE TIME!

“He was pierced for our transgressions,
He was crushed for our iniquities;
The punishment that brought us peace was upon him,
And by his wounds we are healed.
We all, like sheep, have gone astray,
Each of us has turned to his own way;
And the LORD has laid on him
The iniquity of us all.”

Isaiah 53:5, 6

When we stop and imagine what God did for us. We’ve been pulled away
from the fire – sometimes at the last moment and we feel very grateful.
But have we remembered that the one who set us free from the fire,
stayed back and got burned so we wouldn’t have to. Jesus hung on that
cross for you and me. He hung on that cross and died for us. But in
Isaiah 53:11 it says that after the suffering, He saw the light of life.
Yea God! Not only did I get saved by Jesus taking the punishment for
me, but Jesus was also reunited with his father too.

It makes me want to stay even farther away from the edge – so I don’t
have to get burned.

