Pay Attention

7/26/2004 7:04 AM
Title: PAY ATTENTION</b?

S: “.I am the LORD your God who teaches you what is best for you,
who directs you in the way you should go. If only you had paid
attention to my commands, your peace would have been like a river, your
righteousness like the waves of the sea. Your descendants would have
been like the sand, your children like its numberless grains.” Isaiah
48:17-19

O: I never knew that “peace like a river” – the song – came from
Isaiah 48 and 49. It’s actually quite amazing that so many songs came
from scripture and not just ideas. I think that’s pretty good,
actually. But Isaiah is saying here that if we would have listened to
God and his ways, we would have had an ever-flowing river of peace and a
constancy of righteousness like the sea. But he also states that our
descendants would be like the sands of the sea – although he doesn’t say
they will all happen in one generation.

A: I think God is trying to encourage me and say that I need to
learn that HIS ways are always the BEST way. I think he’s trying to
allow me to follow him and not walk away from him. I think he’s trying
to allow me to work with him and not do things according to my standard,
and not his. In other words, God is promising great things for me if I
would only listen, if I would only do it his way and stop fighting him
and stop doing it my way. I have a tendency to fight anything new that
comes along – especially from God. I all too easily feel I’m pretty
good and like I don’t need to make any changes. But God seems to never
let me rest on my laurels. He pushes, he prods, he leads and he
disciplines. And all to often I fight him. Isaiah says we should pay
attention to HIS commands and then we will receive God’s blessings. I
guess it’s a lot like Hebrews 2:1 where it says “We must pay more
careful attention to what we’ve heard so that we do not drift away.”
(paraphrase) It’s like we’re on a river and there’s nowhere to go but
forward or backward. We cover a lot of ground at some point in time,
but then we think it’s only right that we should get a time of slack and
a time of rest. We say things like, “I’ve been working hard a long
time, I think I’ll just sit here and rest awhile.” We feel it’s okay to
do things or go places that really don’t feed our Christian nature and
we begin to drift. The problem is that drifting will lead to
destruction.

I think God is calling me to a higher calling. One where we are truly
listening, and truly following. I know that He is calling me to listen,
to pay attention to His commands, and He is asking me to follow. I need
to submit. Submission to God is the key here, I think.

P: Lord, I want to be willing to follow you. Please make me
willing to be willing. I want to be willing to listen to you. Please
humble my heart and my spirit to be your servant and your friend. I
pray that I will pay better attention to your commands, your decrees,
and your desires for me. I pray you will lead me to walk with you. I
pray you will lead me to listen to you. I want to get to the place,
Lord, that when you ask something of me I say, “You know, God has never
been wrong yet, and I trust him – okay, no questions asked, no fighting
Him, I’ll just do it.” I’m not there yet, God, but that’s where I want
to be. That’s where I want to go in my life. Please focus my energy in
your direction.

I want your peace like a river. I want your righteousness like a sea.
I want your blessing of children. I want your presence in everything I
do. I pray, Lord, for the Holy Spirit to guide me. I pray for the Holy
Spirit to lead me. I pray for Jesus Christ to come into my life and
live in me. Please fill me and guide me and today I rededicate myself
to you. I love you.

