Launch!

WE LAUNCHED!!!! Last night we officially launched the 2nd campus of The Adventure. There were 63 people there. It was an awesome evening with great music and a good time of worship. I spoke about LIVING A LIFE THAT COUNTS: What Kind of Old Person Do You Want to Be?

Three new people came that had never been there before. That was good and awesome. We pre-launched the last weekend of March. This was the launch and we are expecting to re-Launch the West Campus in the fall when our Prophecy Explosion Seminar takes place.

Afterwards, a bunch of us went to the Hawthornes and had a bonfire and

roasted hotdogs and marshmallows and ate chili and sat around and talked. We didn’t debrief what happened that evening much. I was on a high and I was just having fun with friends. It was a good thing, but in retrospect, I had a number of key people there who we could have debriefed with.

I think I’ll do that via email.

But my big growth moment for the whole weekend came on Sabbath morning. I was stressed, wondering if anyone would come, wondering if it would go well, etc. I was having the “Opening Night Jitters” stuff take me on. But I got up and was reading in the Bible and I don’t know if it was Romans chapter 3 that I read and journaled on or whether it just kind of jumped out at me.

I came to the conclusion that we were doing the right thing by starting our west campus. We were doing the right thing to reach people who didn’t yet know Jesus Christ. And if NO ONE came, I was still doing the right thing. My faith was not going to be deterred. My faith was strong. God has asked me to be faithful, not successful.

But in saying that, I think a person needs to be careful. Faithful vs.

Successful are not necessarily polar opposites. I think God expects us to lay down good plans. I think he expects us to provide good opportunities.

In other words, I think perhaps to not do your work and expect that you are faithful is absolute nonsense. In other words, I think God works according to well laid plans and rarely in the miraculous.

We laid some good plans out there with our door-knocking, but I think the goal was too high and so we quit without reaching our goal. We should have set it lower and because it would be more reachable, we would have reached it. The newspaper ads were likely a bit of a ploy to cover our tracks and say – Yes, we did advertise pretty well…. That was my fault. The newspaper ads DID get us out there on the radar screen and people know we’re out there now, though.

We have more work to do to make this campus work and grow and be strong

enough. And that’s why we’re instituting our strategic plan. That’s why we’re putting in place those well-laid plans.

I think all in all, we walked away thinking – this is the right thing to do and we’re okay with it all.

