Scripture: “For it is not those who hear thte law who are righteous in God’s sight, but it is those who obey the law who will be declared righteous.” Romans 2:13 NIV

I don’t think this is some form of legalistic trap that Paul is writing about. He’s simply stating that the things we say we believe need to line up with what we do. In other words, it’s like James says later in the New Testament – don’t be just hearers, but be doers also. Paul is here trying to say that it’s not enough to just go to church. It’s not enough to just listen to the Word of God. It’s not enough to say you are a Christian. Rather, we need to not just talk the talk, but we must also walk the walk. OUr lives must be characterized by doing what we say we believe.

So, that stands up to the forefront of everything that much of society stands for. We live in an age where truth is relative, where whatever feels good should be done, it’s all about our own pleasure, our own desires, our own wants and if it works – so what. The Bible is pretty clear that truth isn’t relative. Truth is full and complete. Truth is truth – sure and simple.

The amazing thing about the Bible is that it was written so long ago and yet it pertains so much to our lives today. It’s amazing when I read the Bible at how much it can be applied to me. It’s practical, it’s relevant, and it’s meaningful.

It will change your life. That’s why I’ve gotten myself into a daily reading program. I read a lot – last year I read 78 books! This year I’m making the Bible my primary focus and am working through about 3-5 chapters a day. When I get done, I will have read the Old Testment once and the New Testament twice. If you’d like information on working on a Bible reading program too, let me know…..

send me an email and I’ll get it to you….

